Board of Health


  • 6 pm
  • 3rd Tuesday of January, March, May, July, September, and November.
  • Beaufort County Public Health Department
    1436 Highland Drive
    Washington, NC 27889

Meetings are open to the public.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Board of Health members must meet certain qualifications [NCGS 130a-35b] and are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. The Board of Health is comprised of 11 members: 1 County Commissioner representative, 3 general public representatives, and 1 of each of the following: Engineer, Dentist, Physician, Registered Nurse, Optometrist, Pharmacist, Veterinarian.

  • Dr. David Howdy - Dentist (Board of Health Chair)
  • Dr. Jessica Triche - Physician (Board of Health Vice Chair)
  • Dr. Chris Padgett - Optometrist 
  • Mrs. Angela Biggs - Pharmacist
  • Mr. Robert Belcher - General Public
  • Mr. Stewart Ham - General Public
  • Mr. Joe Hooker - General Public
  • Dr. Marty Poffenberger - Veterinarian
  • Mr. Hood Richardson - County Commissioner
  • Mr. Mark Roy - Engineer
  • Mrs. Shelia Slade - Registered Nurse


North Carolina General Statutes define both the responsibilities and the composition of local boards of health. The local board of health is charged with being “the policy-making, rule-making and adjudicatory body for a county health department.”